How I Learned to Code during the Pandemic

I always wanted to learn to code, but I felt like I don’t have the time. When the lockdown began, I saw it as an opportunity to start, so I decided to teach myself in my spare hours.

I assumed that I have to learn some computer science first before I can code. I was wrong. I can approach this the practitioner way – build first, theories later.

Why did I learn to code? Coding demands focus. I’m 24. At this age, I am more likely to concentrate and focus for long periods of time. This will be much harder when I’m older, hence I am leveraging this ability by teaching myself to code. There will be plenty of time for lofty philosophizing in old age.


My first project was building a COVID-19 Predictor, from an end-to-end, full-stack application from a single Twitter thread by Sean McClure.

This was my first real introduction to coding software. I was not merely a spectator, but getting my hands dirty.

My second project was the Learn Python 3 course on Codecademy. It introduced me to the basics such as syntax, functions, control flow, lists, loops, and more.

In each lesson, I practiced through code challenges and created small projects such as Purchasing Information and Receipts, Getting Ready for Physics Class, and Python Gradebook.

As part of the course, I learned the command line. I learned its navigation, manipulation, redirection, and configuration.

The course provided me the confidence as a beginner. There were times where I find myself bored, perhaps because the coding exercises were isolated. It’s a different animal when you’re actually making something useful.

These days, I’m using the following resources as a guide:


There are many false gatekeepers to opportunity. The assumption that you need formal education, online courses or years of deep experience is patently false. Everyone has the ability to piece together their idea into something that actually works.

-Sean McClure

When I’m coding, I return to my childhood inclinations – building, tinkering, and figuring things out. And when the code works and I finally get it, it’s exhilarating. It gives an absolute sense of mastery.

There were times where I spend the whole night in deep work, free from the noise of social media. I am not mindlessly consuming, but actively crafting and learning by building.

I’m targeting to code at least an hour every day. Maybe teach myself computer science. Join me and let’s automate everything and build ten thousand things, for fun or profit.

P.S. I have launched a newsletter in Substack. All future essays will be published there. Sign up so you don’t miss my future essays! davegulimlim.substack.com

Leave a comment